Coverart for item
The Resource Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing, Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers

Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing, Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers

Label
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing
Title
Zoobiquity
Title remainder
what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing
Statement of responsibility
Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients
Cataloging source
DNLM/DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Natterson-Horowitz, Barbara
Dewey number
636.089607
Index
index present
LC call number
RB125
LC item number
.N392 2012
Literary form
non fiction
NAL call number
RB125
NAL item number
.N388 2012
Nature of contents
bibliography
NLM call number
  • 2012 F-425
  • QZ 33
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Bowers, Kathryn
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Diseases
  • Veterinary pathology
  • Medicine, Comparative
  • Animal health
  • Pathology
  • Disease Models, Animal
  • Pathology, Veterinary
  • Physiology, Comparative
  • Psychology, Comparative
  • Animal health
  • Diseases
  • Medicine, Comparative
  • Veterinary pathology
  • Krankheit
  • Tiermodell
  • Tiermedizin
  • Diseases
  • Pathology, Comparative
Label
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing, Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Zoobiquity -- The feint of heart (fainting) -- Jews and jaguars (cancer) -- Roar-gasm (sexuality and dysfunction) -- Zoophoria (substance abuse and addiction) -- Scared to death (sudden death) -- Fat planet (obesity) -- The koala and the clap (sexually transmitted diseases) -- Grooming gone wild (self-mutilation) -- Fear of feeding (eating disorders) -- Leaving the nest (animal adolescence) -- Dr. House, meet Dr. Doolittle
Control code
ocn754714335
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
viii, 308 pages
Isbn
9780307593481
Lccn
2012005051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780307593481
  • (OCoLC)754714335
Label
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing, Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Zoobiquity -- The feint of heart (fainting) -- Jews and jaguars (cancer) -- Roar-gasm (sexuality and dysfunction) -- Zoophoria (substance abuse and addiction) -- Scared to death (sudden death) -- Fat planet (obesity) -- The koala and the clap (sexually transmitted diseases) -- Grooming gone wild (self-mutilation) -- Fear of feeding (eating disorders) -- Leaving the nest (animal adolescence) -- Dr. House, meet Dr. Doolittle
Control code
ocn754714335
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
viii, 308 pages
Isbn
9780307593481
Lccn
2012005051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780307593481
  • (OCoLC)754714335

Library Locations

    • Waubonsee: Aurora Downtown CampusBorrow it
      1st Floor 18 S. River St., Aurora, IL, 60506-4178, US
      41.7587304 -88.3172925
    • Waubonsee: Sugar Grove Campus - Todd LibraryBorrow it
      Collins Hall 2nd Floor Waubonsee Community College Route 47 at Waubonsee Drive, Sugar Grove, IL, 60554-9454, US
      41.7974 -88.45785
Processing Feedback ...